First Impressions – Aku no Hana

aku no hana

-shivers-

Synopsis:

Kasuga Takao is a boy who loves reading books, particularly Baudelaire’s Les Fleurs du Mal. A girl at his school, Saeki Nanako, is his muse and his Venus, and he admires her from a distance. One day, he forgets his copy of Les Fleurs du Mal in the classroom and runs back alone to pick it up. In the classroom, he finds not only his book, but Saeki’s gym uniform. On a mad impulse, he steals it. Now everyone knows “some pervert” stole Saeki’s uniform, and Kasuga is dying with shame and guilt. Furthermore, the weird, creepy, and friendless girl of the class, Nakamura, saw him take the uniform. Instead of revealing it was him, she recognizes his kindred deviant spirit and uses her knowledge to take control of his life. Will it be possible for Kasuga to get closer to Saeki, despite Nakamura’s meddling and his dark secret? What exactly does Nakamura intend to do with him? 

(Source: MangaHelpers)

Comment:

Creepy. I don’t know but I’m feeling nervous all throughout the episode. I would be glad if somebody out there feels the same as I am.

Okay. So many people were turned off with Aku no Hana and I know the main reason why. The character design. It’s out of the ordinary and it looks like some kind of a real person animated. The background and other designs aside for the characters are really good and in so much details. For me, who considers character designs and art as a basis for watching an anime, this one should be a no-no. However… there’s something going on and I can feel it.

So let’s take a look at what happened. The main character, Kasuga, is a literature lover and has a crush to the most intelligent girl in class. That’s almost all the first episode showed us. And then, this Nakamura was introduced. She really gave me the creeps. I haven’t read the manga and I don’t plan to. But for what I heard, the story is really something.

However, aside from the character design, the problem also lies with the pacing. As you’ve noticed, nothing much happened with the pilot episode. A lot of unnecessary scenes would’ve been better off being cut as I perceived that it doesn’t have much to do with the story – like walking in the street (took so long) and etc.

The background music…. The ED…. Aw man –shivers-

Verdict:

I really don’t know! Maybe I’ll check the next episode.

4 thoughts on “First Impressions – Aku no Hana

  1. I agree that this is a series that’s pretty hard to formulate an opinion about at the moment. Nothing much happened, but I agree that there definitely was a eerie vibe, and that ED is enough to say that things should be taking an interesting turn.

    • That eerie feeling kept me on watching the first episode from start to finish. I was not bored in the very least even though there’s nothing much happened.

      Oh! I finally decided to follow this show this season. I want to see Aku no Hana unfold into something special. 🙂

  2. What the hell?
    Why the graphics are different from the manga?
    Seriously, it’s horrible. The story is amazing. I’m following the manga, and it keeps me focused on it. But the anime won’t be so good as graphics in the manga…

    • I haven’t checked the manga, maybe I will later. But I’ve heard that maybe since the atmosphere of this show is a little bit dark and it portrays something “ugly”, they changed it into something, er, not as cute(?) as the character designs in the manga. Or maybe they’re up to something else. I already put this show on hold for the time being so I don’t know much.

      Maybe you need to just stick to the manga if you don’t want the animation in this anime ruin your Aku no Hana experience 🙂

Have a cup of tea and let's discuss!

