Final Impressions – Hentai Ouji To Warawanai Neko

hennekoo

This is clearly one of the best shows of Spring 2013.

At first, I am hesitant of trying this show because of its title. Things like panties, boobs, crotch and any other form of “H” stuffs flashed through my minds. Yeah, this show has them but they are shown in a fairly decent and cute way.

So why do I consider it as one of the best shows of Spring? Well, it is the most consistent show that I’ve watched in this line-up. Week after week, it has been delivering a good and solid story backed up by strong humour and cuteness.

tsukiko-and-yooouta

I must say that I’ve underestimated this show and I didn’t expect it to deliver this well. I thought that it’ll just focus on the fan service, moe and comedy but little did I know that the overall mystery that runs throughout this show would be so interesting. All of those wish granting/cancelling actions our characters have gone through, at first, seems so trivial but at the end of this show, almost everything makes sense. There’s also some drama, which was handled really well.

hentai-ouji-to-warawanai-neko-172

The characters did contribute to the overall greatness of this show. ALL of them are adorable and likeable. Tsukiko remains expressionless by the end of this show but I think it suits her best. It adds up to the cuteness level of this show. Azuki, the one I consider as the best girl, is still the best girl. Gosh, they should’ve end up together! The airheaded Tsukushi still believes that Youto has a younger brother. Her dumbness is way beyond my comprehension but still she’s as adorable as the other two. Even the side characters, like Ponta and Emi, are also a great contributor to the show.

youto-x-tsukiko

But the main highlight of this show is Yokodera Youto. He’s a strong lead even though sometimes he falls into the “oblivious harem MC” type. It’s refreshing to have a really perverted guy as the main lead even though it’s only for his words and intentions. I also like the fact that the girls have fair share of moments with him, even though right from the start it’s pretty obvious that he’ll end up with Tsukiko.

Interesting story, likeable characters, ummm, what else?

hentai-ouji-to-warawanai-neko-8-18

The visuals and animation are also one of the best of the season. J.C. Staff did an excellent job in making the quality consistent throughout the show’s run. It’s vivid and colourful, which is such a feast to the eyes. The character designs are cute, of course and the backgrounds are well detailed. The OP and the ED are both memorable and… cute. Gosh, this show is just so cute.

I’m really glad that I’ve picked up this show and I’ve learned my lesson that I shouldn’t let the title deceive me. And also, don’t underestimate a romcom show cause they can deliver much better than those that have an overly ambitious plot but fails to deliver.

It has been a pretty nice ride, Henneko. I hope to see you again, maybe in a form of an OVA.

6 thoughts on “Final Impressions – Hentai Ouji To Warawanai Neko

  1. The show is also crazy popular here in Japan, so many people probably agree with you! I also enjoyed the show quite a bit (at least compared to some of the bashing it’s received), and the amount of depth and just all-around execution was a pleasant surprise!

    • I’m not that aware of the bashing this show has received. It’s not that I care though. Well, I’m just glad that a lot people like this show as well, especially over there in Japan 😉

  2. Wow. Great review! Really makes me want to check it out now. I’ve read the manga before and when I found out there was an Anime adaptation for this, I was kind of hesitant. Now, I think I will give it a try 🙂

    • Keep in mind that this post is very subjective. But I believe that this show deserves a chance to be watched by everyone. So yeah, give it a try 😉

  3. I’m not really expecting anything for this series which is why I haven’t even watched it until now… but seeing how it actually made your fave series for Spring, I’d say that it must be good. The consistency is definitely a nice plus for the series since there have been a few series this past Spring which opened up nicely but gets boring half way -_-
    anyway, I’m definitely watching this one next once my schedule clears up this weekend :3 (but I need to finish Crime Edge first -_-)

Have a cup of tea and let's discuss!

