First Impressions – Free!- Iwatobi Swim Club

free!

Synopsis:

The story revolves around Haruka Nanase, a boy who has always loved to be immersed in water, and to swim in it. Before graduating from elementary school, he participated in a swimming tournament along with his fellow swimming club members, Makoto Tachibana, Nagisa Hazuki, and Rin Matsuoka. After achieving victory, each of the boys went their separate ways.

Time passed, and in the middle of their uneventful high school lives, Rin appears and challenges Haruka to a match, showing Haruka his overwhelming power. Not wanting it to end like this, Haruka, gathers together Makoto and Nagisa once again and brings a new member named Rei Ryugazaki to create the Iwatobi High School Swimming Club in order to defeat Rin.

Comments:

The most awaited swimming anime is here!  Guys, let’s celebrate!

Oooh wait! I’m late for the party. Gomen.

This has been so popular ever since that commercial has come up. Even though there’s a little chance of getting an anime adaptation back then, people have already written some fanfics about this show and created a lot of fan arts. They even named them based on their characteristics, like pimp-kun for Nagisa! And don’t forget the title “Ore to omae no sa o oshiete yaru yo”.  Mostly, these people are from tumblr. So when the anime has been green-lit, I’m one of those who celebrated.

This is a pretty good first episode. We are introduced to four out of five main characters, all of which has a thing for each other swimming. The animation is great, as expected from KyoAni. The character designs of our well-built, handsome young men are excellent. The dialogues somewhat have a “double meaning” or maybe it’s just my imagination playing tricks on me again. At any rate, don’t mind me.

If you swim with me, I’ll show you a sight you’ve never seen before.

Anyway, the story doesn’t look that much promising so far but, hell, I’ll stick with this show. The OP and ED, especially the ED, is amazing. Haruka, looking for water in the dessert and his mini boy band before that. I definitely want to see how KyoAni will put more substance to this show and shame those who dropped this just because of its manservice.

I already expect a lot of doujins about this show and I’m more than willing to check them out.

Verdict:

I’ll stick to this show and try to cover it for my episode commentaries.

One thought on “First Impressions – Free!- Iwatobi Swim Club

Comments are closed.