Welcoming 2014 with my Favorite Anime Picks of 2013

tumblr_mx4r6kr3J61sqbvydo2_500Hello everyone!

Are you guys also excited to welcome year 2014? Gosh, time sure flies so fast. It seems like 2013 just passed by I can’t believe it. I haven’t done anything worthy this year, I feel like a crap.

Anyway, even though I only watched a considerably small number of shows this year (only around 30,  shame on me), I believe I’ve seen enough to write a list of my favorite shows. So before we greet the New Year with a “BANG”, I offer you a view on my shit tastes.

FAVORITE ANIME OF 2013

danganronpa

5. Danganronpa: The Animation

valvrave

4. Kakumeiki Valvrave

I think it’s no surprise to see Danganronpa and Kakumeiki Valvrave on this list if you’re one of the few readers of my blog OR if you’re following me on twitter. These two shows have a lot of faults but the entertainment value is just so high that all the other shows just pale in comparison. You can check out some of my posts to see how much I fan boy over these two.

sakurasou

3. Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo

With regards to Sakurasou, I’ve just recently finished that show last October or November. I’m really a fan of drama (of any kinds) and the theme of this show is just so familiar with me.

shingeki no kyojin

2. Shingeki no Kyojin

One of the most, if not the most, popular show of 2013. I’m one of those who believe that it lived up to the hype. Thanks to its interesting setting and concept. Some episodes suffer from pacing problems but when it’s good, it’s really great! Some of the episodes are really blood pumping and the very bleak atmosphere emanates from the screen. It managed to make me on the edge of my seat during some big fight scenes. Unforgettable series indeed…

shinsekai_yori_o0

1. Shinsekai Yori

Now, my most favorite anime of 2013 is Shinsekai Yori. It’s the only show of the year that manages to enter my top five anime of all times. I really like how the story went. It has a very slow pacing during the first half of the show but it manages to establish the solid ground for the story so when the time comes for the second half – BOOM! It’s nerve-wracking and the horror and mystery lingers to your mind for a couple of days. And the twist by the last episode… gosh. WATCH THIS SHOW GUYS!

FAVORITE MALE CHARACTERS 

yutaka hasebe

3. Hasebe Yutaka [Servant x Service]

Such a smooth talker. Hasebe excels in almost everything but what makes him so adorable is his laidback attitude. He’s lazy and most of us can relate. But what I like about him the most is how he tries to win the heart of his co-worker, Lucy, and being cute in the process.

hiroomi nase

2. Nase Hiroomi [Kyoukai no Kanata]

A Spirit World Warrior coming from the influential clan of Nase. A proud pervert and a siscon! You gotta watch out for this guy because he’s going to win your heart. Also, HE IS FABULOUS!

l-elf

1. L-Elf Karlstein [Kakumeiki Valvrave]

The famous one-man army of Dorssia who planned to make a revolution against the said country. Why is he ranked so high? Because he is strong… smart… and I ship him with Haruto LOL

FAVORITE FEMALE CHARACTERS

chihaya

3. Chihaya Megumi [Servant x Service]

Oh this girl, the life of Servant x Service. I love how frank she is, to the point that it’s super funny. Also, how she treats her boyfriend is kind of… sweet?

2. Nobi Marie [Kakumeiki Valvrave]

I dunno why but even during the first season where she didn’t play that much role, I already like this small girl. Maybe her personality and her deadpan face? And after that twist during the second season, I love her even more. THE BEST PILOT.

shiguma rika

1. Shiguma Rika [Haganai NEXT]

Who wouldn’t love this fujoshi?  The way she developed during the whole second season is really fun to watch. She’s the most perceptive in the group and the first one who was labeled as “friend” by Kodaka. Most importantly, as a fellow BL lover she deserves the highest rank on this list.

FAVORITE OPENING SONGS

3. CROWDS [Gatchaman Crowds]

2. Preserved Rose [Kakumeiki Valvrave]

1. Guren no Yumiya [Shingeki no Kyojin]

FAVORITE ENDING SONGS

3. REASON [Karneval]

2. Daisy [Kyoukai no Kanata]

1. SPLASH FREE [Free!]

TOP 5 SHIPS

ererii

5. Levi x Eren [Shingeki no Kyojin]

Really, there’s no gay subtext regarding their relationship in Shingeki no Kyojin. However, tumblr fan arts influenced me to ship these two. And I see the great potential…

Magi - 21 - Large 24

4. Hakuryuu x Morgiana [Magi: The Labyrinth of Magic]

Morgiana should end up with Hakuryuu. Alibaba can die alone. No, really, I want my baby Hakuryuu to be happy with Morgiana. He needed someone to be by his side, especially now…

hasebe x lucy

3. Hasebe x Lucy [Servant x Service]

Gyaaahhhh! A perfect couple… they’re perfect for each other. Hasebe’s laidback personality + Lucy’s airheadedness = Perfection. Watch the show guys.

makoto x haru

2. Makoto x Haru [Free!]

Okay guys, I don’t think that one should be a fujoshi to notice the gay subtext in this show. I mean, look at how Makoto looks at Haru. Look at how he takes care of him. Maybe it’s just our wild imagination but I doubt you don’t see at least that much.

Or maybe, it really is just my wild imagination. They’re perfect for each other, by the way.

l-elf x haruto

1. L-Elf x Haruto [Kakumeiki Valvrave]

I really love the friendship that developed between L-Elf and Haruto. And with Valvrave’s ending, I’m touched and I teared up by how genuine their feelings are for each other. And with that friendship comes my avid shippings. Great potential really, I know you guys see the same right?

SPECIAL AWARDS

BEST TRAP OF THE YEAR

TOTSUKA SAIKA

TOTSUKA SAIKA

I kind of understand how the main guy felt towards Saika. He’s more girly than any other girls of the show and I love it. And the blatant attempt of the show for us to ship them is all the more adorable. I would marry him if I were you, Hachiman.

BEST MASCOT OF THE YEAR

king-monobear-1024x576

NONE OTHER THAN… MONOBEAR! UPPU~PU~PU

MY WAIFU OF THE YEAR

MIUSEL FOALAN

MIUSEL FOALAN

I’ve never been in love with 2D character before. But Myusel comes and she melts my cold heart. She’s just so cute and adorable and I want to take her home and let her serve me as her master. You bastard Shinichi, you don’t know how lucky you are!

HUSBANDOO OF THE YEAR

tumblr_myk1ukag9r1rkib8lo1_250Makoto is the best husbando period. The way he smiles, his stares and the way he takes care of Haru is just so adorable.  It makes you want to be his “Haru”!

There you have it!

This year has been quite a good year for my blogging and anime hobbies. I’ve gained lots of online friends and I think I’m becoming more and more comfortable talking to them. There are a lot of ups and downs, that’s for sure, but I’m really grateful that year 2013 has been a good one for me.

My new year’s resolution is to watch more anime because I’m quite disappointed with myself for watching less show this year. I don’t really know if I’ll be as active as I am before when it comes to blogging because I have some “plans” to accomplish, but I’m preparing some new “projects” for this blog this year 2014.

As always, thanks to all who visit, read, follow, and comment on this blog! I hope that you guys will have a wonderful year to come.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

21 thoughts on “Welcoming 2014 with my Favorite Anime Picks of 2013

  1. Quite a nice choice of works, although I didn’t like SNK and Haganai (this one felt… Dunno, I guess it dissapointed me, just like Oreimo). I’ve been wanting to see Shinsekai Yori and Servant x Service, but I don’t remember where it was that I read that those two don’t have romance (and I’m all for the romance, like, 90%) but I’ll guess I’ll give them a try >-<
    Happy new year!

    • Interesting. I don’t know what they mean by ‘romance’ but I believe SSY and SxS have one.
      Anyway, thanks and have a happy and fruitful year SieghartXx!

  2. Makoto your husbando?! No love for Rei?! But he is clearly the best Free! And Reigisa has so much shipping potential (even though I find Nagisa kind of annoying) :-))) But you’ve got Ereri on the list so I can forgive you.

    Also, Hasebe was wonderful. His lines made me blush >////<

    • Sorry, I’m not really a big fan of Rei but I do find a lot of shipping potential with ReiGisa. HOWEVER, MakoHaru is really my thing LOL. Also, Makoto is really a husband figure if you’ll try to look at it 😉

      Anyway, Have a Happy New Year!!!

      • Makoto was the one that grabbed my attention the most. I always remember him as happy water bottle senpai. Just found him boring I guess.

        Anyways HAPPY NEW YEAR TOO! 😀 may 2014 be another wonderful year for shipping and wonderful bishies

  3. I haven’t seen any of these shows, though SnK and SSY will be picked up sooner or later. Sakurasou’s one of those “When I feel like it” shows.

  4. I respect the fact that you put Danganronpa and Valvrave on your list while admitting they have major faults. Some people don’t like admitting an entertaining show can be bad or have faults. Some even get offended 😛 I only recently discovered you and your blog through Twitter, so I haven’t been able to read about your fanboying 😄

    I myself loved Valvrave (well at least up until the last couple episodes of season 2), but if I were to sit down and seriously review it, I would grade it trash tier 😛 But still, that doesn’t take away from its entertainment value (especially the music…Preserved Rose IS great). As for Danganronpa, I dropped it, mainly because I really have a hard time watching game adaptations.

    As for the rest of your picks, I’m glad to see some Servant x Service love! I really enjoyed that show, much more than Working!! (don’t know if you’ve seen that). All the characters really stood out to me. And Hasebe x Lucy was really cute imo.

    Anyways, I’m glad I found your blog. I’ll try to stop every now and then 😄

    • Cheers to my fellow Valvrave fan! One should just enjoy that kind of show…

      Yeah, I’ve seen Working!! and it’s also one of my favorites. To me it’s much funnier compared to SxS but the characters in the latter are much more loveable and interesting (still, Yamada is the best). Also, the main couple in SxS has more charm and chemistry than those in Working!!.

      Anyway, I’m also glad that you found my blog! Have a Happy New Year 🙂

  5. How can anyone but Hato-kun from Genshiken Nidaime win this year of pretty good traps? He’s actually not the butt of jokes, and is a fully realized character – and I actually wished for his ship to sail, something the characters kept talking about, and not as a recurring gag either!

  6. Well, just finished OreGairu and SAI BEST TRAP CONFIRMED. Lol cos the show ships Sai with basically every character he comes into contact with 🙂

      • Yeah lol, my comment was a bit of a joke. I mean, Sai gets full marks on the lovability meter, but if you actually compared them as characters, as you said Hato is clearly much more fleshed out than Sai… who’s basically your standard LN trap just there for the ships and humour.

  7. Shinsekai Yori. Shingeki no Kyojin. LevixEren. MakotoxHaru(xRin=threesome ftw). Totsuka Saika. Enough reasons for me to follow you from now on until we both grow old and wrinkled. 😄

Have a cup of tea and let's discuss!

