Natsume Yuujinchou Diary Project

35126761_m

Over a year has passed since I first encountered this show called Natsume Yuujinchou. I still remember how I stumbled upon it when I was searching for “an anime that will make you cry”. I think I just finished AnoHana back then.  Anyway, I saw this show on MAL and I immediately felt a tug for me to watch it. The art and character designs feel so calm so I told myself that, for sure, I’m going to like the feel of it. I went to an online streaming site and downloaded all four seasons in one go.

It’s not really a show for a marathon so I watched it one episode at a time. I decided to approach it that way because I want to feel and savour every episodes. I wanted to digest all the feelings and lessons that the show was trying to feed me.

It took me 3-4 months to finish the whole franchise. Of course, there were some breaks in between so it took that long. You know what? I really enjoyed the journey. It was really worth it! I’m not going to pretend that I remembered every pieces of it but I can say for sure that I still feel that fluttering feelings inside my heart right as of this moment.

That is why I considered this show as the BEST SHOW I’ve ever come across. It doesn’t have a super ambitious plot and it’s not the best work of fiction out there. But what makes this the best show for me is that it resonates to my being. What need do I have for a show that’s great in all aspect and well acclaimed for it’s plot, symbolisms and etc, but has no effect to me? Natsume Yuujinchou earned a really good spot in my heart. Take note, it’s not just a pure heartwarming story, this show is also one of the creepiest non-horror shows I have ever watched.

But what made this more special is the main character, Natsume Takashi. He’s  just so… real. His character is really well developed and his situations and backstory really made me care for him as a person. I just want to jump right inside the screen and be one of his understanding friends, really!

Okay, so after that long introduction, let me tell you what this project is all about. I’m planning to re-watch this favorite show of mine in the same manner that I watched it a year ago. Now that I have this blog, I want to write down all my feels and thoughts about this show. This will be a series of posts, day 1-day XX. There is certainly a change on my tastes over the year and I want to know how I’ll like Natsume Yuujinchou even more. I’ll try to analyze some things and try to relate it to my life. Just little snippets are enough. This is a diary, not really a place for discussions, but comments will be very much welcome.

This project might run for a very long period because I’m busy with real life stuffs and I’m also watching other shows, but for sure, I’ll be able to finish it within a year. Hope you will be there with me on my Natsume Yuujinchou revisiting journey!

5 thoughts on “Natsume Yuujinchou Diary Project

    • Thanks!

      Don’t expect too much though. My entries will basically run down to one basic idea – “I love this episode because blah blah” HAHAHA

  1. Pingback: Mein Liebster Auszeichnung | Anime Monographia

Have a cup of tea and let's discuss!