First Impressions – Witch Craft Works

witch1-2

Synopsis:

Takamiya Honoka is a regular student whose only problem seems to be that he sits next to Kagari Ayaka, the school’s #1 beauty. They have never spoken to each other before and any small interaction between them immediately results in her fanclub beating him. Yet when a falling part of the school’s building is about to send him to the afterlife, it’s Kagari that comes to his rescue. Only… she’s dressed as a witch, carrying him in her arms and floating on a broom?! Kagari tells him it is her mission to protect him and that now she can finally protect him openly rather than undercover. (MU)

Comment:

My first thoughts:

What the hell is with this show?

What’s with all the commotion about this huge girl?

What about her big boobs and that camera angle?

What’s with those fan club beating the shit out of the main character?

What’s with Pres. Obama?

WHAT THE HELL?!!

Honestly, I find myself cringing at some scenes because of the things that happened during the first part. You may have noticed with the way I reacted above right?

But by the second half, I got a bit used as to what the show is trying to do so everything becomes a bit more watchable. I guess, I just need a little bit of adjustment eh? Also, there is an undeniably awesome chemistry between our main characters, though when we look at both of them separately, there’s nothing really unique about them that can distinguish them with some other leads.

Anyway, Takamiya-kun is just so cute. The reverse role pretty much works in this show and I like it.

I love the visuals and the animation, especially during the action scene. It’s really flashy and all. Also, that ED Song! So cute!

Verdict: Although I have some things that I like in this episode, I don’t think I’ll follow this show this season. I’m putting this on hold but I might pick it up again when I hear good stuffs happen.

2 thoughts on “First Impressions – Witch Craft Works

  1. Pick it up again, it’s fast becoming Anime of the Season. Awesome new characters and fantastic pacing, plus the most adorable male lead ever.

Have a cup of tea and let's discuss!