Final Impressions – Devil Survivor 2 The Animation

Devil Survivor 2 The Animation - 13 - Large 01

One of my disappointments this season.

As you have read in my first impressions post, it was one of the shows that started great.  I expected more from it because I have heard that the game is good. But then again, it’s my fault for expecting too much.

The show could’ve been better.

I’m one of those who believe in that line. After watching the finale, I finally have a good view of what this show is trying to accomplish. There’s this version of this show that is currently running inside my head. The adaptation seems to be at fault in this one. They tried to tell the story of the game in mere thirteen 24 minutes episodes. That affected a lot of aspects of this show.

Devil Survivor 2 The Animation - 13 - Large 08

How does this work?

PLOTHOLES. There are a lot of things that are not explained in this show! Yeah, I know that every little things should not be explained to the viewers but at least try to tell something about them! Don’t throw all those words and give me all these events like I should already know them. All I can do is to pause the video, scratch my head, and try to think whether it was mentioned somewhere, then hit play and say “fuck this shit, never mind”.

Devil Survivor 2 The Animation - 11 - Large 26

Boom! Boom! Boom! Even brigh-

PACING. Due to time constraint, this show is fast paced. There’s this time wherein the show is better off with that kind of pacing but the show decided to slow down. Like WTF? It doesn’t match what’s needed in the episode. Despite the fact that the pacing is fast, the show is still boring. I can pause the video halfway, open chrome, check my twitter and tumblr until an hour has passed and I already forgotten about the video I’m watching.

Is this show telling me to ship them? A BIG NO.

Is this show telling me to ship them? A BIG NO.

LACK OF CHARACTER DEPTH and DEVELOPMENT. Well this is the main issue for me. I think that for a show to really work, I should be able to relate and to like the characters. It doesn’t need to have a super ambitious plot but if ever a show have both, then it’s EXCELLENT. It’s pretty much apparent with my tastes if you’ve been reading my blog. Here, the characters die one by one and I couldn’t care less about them. They just die without us knowing that much about them or even moving the plot along the way. Okay, they tried to put some scenes to show their stories but little snippets won’t work! I really want to care about them but out of all the casts, I only liked Airi-chan and, in this case, it’s just because she’s cute.

Devil Survivor 2 The Animation - 13 - Large 26

My cute Airi-chan.

Anyway, the show is decent at best. It’s not horrible, okay? It’s not just that amazing. The animation and the visuals are great. The fight scenes involving the demons and other summons are such a feast to the eyes. I can totally see that the game is great.

Speaking of the game, some of those who have played DeSu2 can’t help but compare it with the anime. I’ve heard that the show kinda deviates from the game (Can someone clarify this?). They said that it’s far more better because you can sympathize with the characters and etc. Well, as  a non-gamer like me, I have no fucking idea about that. But if I have the chance, I want to play it.

Devil Survivor 2 The Animation - 13 - Large 11

Digimon using high tech phones.

This show could’ve been better if it has 24 episodes, IMO. They can take their time and slow down a bit the pacing of this show. They could focus on the characters to make them seem real and relatable. They could also explain a lot of what’s going on in this show. But of course, that’s not the only solution, but that’s all I can say right now. Like I said, the ending makes me realize how great that ending would be if I understand the show and the characters better.

I appreciated the efforts in animating this series, though. I had fun in this show as well. I guess in terms of my “shipping” *tehee*.  But overall, I guess this is a decent show.

2 thoughts on “Final Impressions – Devil Survivor 2 The Animation

  1. Wow. Our reactions are exactly the same! I tried my best to relate with this show, what with the good visuals and everything(no, wait, no everything. Just pretty visuals period.) During the last episode, with all the lights and superpowers and flying and what, I just kind of slipped into a state where I threw my brains out of the window and made a love-triangle story between Hibiki and his two yandere white-haired semes. I simply detached myself away from the annoying plot holes and utterly confusing scenes.

    And I totally agree that probably the only thing I ever liked about this show is Airi Ban. That piano scene is just pretty. 🙂

Have a cup of tea and let's discuss!

